The Bipolar Parent: Introduction

Greetings! Welcome to my blog, The Bipolar Parent! I am Cassandra Stout: an author, bipolar survivor, and parent of a not-quite five-year-old.

After I recovered from a post-partum psychotic breakdown, I had to start managing my newly diagnosed bipolar disorder. As a stay-at-home parent, mitigating damage to my young child is crucial, so I threw myself into the task of educating myself on how best to be a bipolar parent.

But, while there are many, many resources for parents with bipolar children, parents with mental illnesses tend to be left in the dust. I aim to fill this need as best as I can while caring for my child and managing my own disorder. If you have a question you’d like to see covered, or–better yet–a guest post available, I would love to see it. Please contact me at sagansjagger@gmail.com or visit the Contact Us page. Subscribing to the blog’s RSS Feed will send updates right to your inbox, so you’ll never be left behind.

I hope you’ll poke around for a bit and find information useful to you! Next Thursday, I’ll be writing a bit more on the differences between depressive and manic episodes. Which do you struggle with most?

Disclaimer: Even though I strive for accuracy, I make no claims of expertise. Any information contained in these posts and on my web site should not be taken as medical advice to replace that of your physician.

About Cassandra Stout

Freelance writer Cassandra Stout blogs at the award-winning Bipolar Parent, a comprehensive resource for parents with mental illnesses. Cassandra holds degrees from the University of Arizona in Creative Writing and Journalism. She has been a judge for the Pacific Northwest Writers' Association literary contest for nine years, where her memoir, Committed, recently placed as a finalist. She balances her literary work with raising her children, feeding her cat, and managing her bipolar disorder.
This entry was posted in bipolar parent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Bipolar Parent: Introduction

  1. Celiac and Allergy Adventures says:

    I would be very interested in reading your memoir when you publish it! It sounds like an awful experience you went through. Did you have any symptoms prior to having your child?

    • Cassandra says:

      Thank you so much! I have goose bumps!

      I definitely had symptoms prior to giving birth. I’d explained multiple times to my OBGYN that I was fatigued and depressed, but I was also foaming-at-the-mouth irritable and fairly disoriented. I was terrified of spending money, so to furnish my child’s room, I dug through dumpsters.

      We’d just moved and I had no friends, but rather than seeking out social contact, I isolated myself (which was painful as an extrovert!). By the end of it, I was a shut-in who’d stopped showering, sleeping, or eating–classic symptoms of mania/psychosis.

      It was a pretty wild ride!

      • Celiac and Allergy Adventures says:

        Wow, it sounds it! There is more I’d like to say but I hesitate to do so in such a public forum. You’re very brave 🙂

  2. Cassandra says:

    Well, I’m pretty open with these things, but if you’d like to discuss things further, I’d love to start up an email chat! 🙂 Thank you so much for talking with me.

Share Your Thougts!

