A Brand New Year, A Brand New Baby

wp_20161115_11_54_06_rich

Claire Stout, 1 day old

Boy, has it been a while since I last updated! Many changes have happened to the Stout household since 2015. I’ve recently given birth to a healthy little girl, with no ill effects post-partum. I am stable and healthy myself, taking Risperidone and Wellbutrin–both of which I will cover in the next post.

My pregnancy was as easy as could be expected, despite my suffering from hyperemesis–which means I threw up almost everything I ate from day one to the day before I gave birth. I lost thirty pounds, and regained twenty. Still, Claire was seven pounds and thirteen ounces at birth, with no health issues except for a touch of jaundice.

My son, Nolan, is now a fiercely independent eight-year-old, finishing up third grade. I’ve completed my book, Committed, and am working on the second round of edits before attending the 2017 Pacific Northwest Writers’ Association’s conference to pitch to agents. I have also entered the PNWA literary contest with a stand-alone chapter of my book. Wish me luck!

As for The Bipolar Parent blog, 2017 is a new year, so I plan to update every Friday. Keep an eye on this spot for new content each week.

I hope your year has been as fruitful as mine has been. Thanks for reading!

 

About Cassandra Stout

Freelance writer Cassandra Stout blogs at the award-winning Bipolar Parent, a comprehensive resource for parents with mental illnesses. Cassandra holds degrees from the University of Arizona in Creative Writing and Journalism. She has been a judge for the Pacific Northwest Writers' Association literary contest for nine years, where her memoir, Committed, recently placed as a finalist. She balances her literary work with raising her children, feeding her cat, and managing her bipolar disorder.
This entry was posted in bipolar parent. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Brand New Year, A Brand New Baby

  1. dyane says:

    Congratulations on your beautiful little girl!!!! I’m so glad you didn’t have any postpartum adversities.
    As a fellow bipolar parent/author, I look forward to following your blog. Good luck with the second round of editing and with the contest – I hope you win! 🙂

    take care,
    Dyane

    • Cassandra says:

      Hi, Dyane!
      Thank you so much! I really appreciate your following along and promoting me on Twitter! I’m looking forward to reading your book. There are so few resources for parents with mental illness that we all have to stick together.

      Thanks again,
      Cass

      • dyane says:

        My pleasure – you already made my day by retweeting about my book.
        (People who retweet are kindred spirits!) I look forward to keeping in touch!

        I hope you’re having a great day, and be sure to enjoy that beautiful Claire of yours…
        (I know you will!)
        Dyane

        p.s. Nolan is a really cool name!

        • Cassandra says:

          Haha, thanks! We think his name is cool, too. And no worries about the tweet/retweet thing. We’ve all been there. Have a great day, and take care of yourself!

          Cass

  2. dyane says:

    I just realized I wrote “retweet” when I meant tweet – this shows you how groggy I am. And I don’t even have an adorable newborn to blame for that! 😉

  3. Raegina says:

    Congrats! Can I ask if you’re breastfeeding? This is something I’m struggling to fifht for with my drs because it would mean swapping from Lithium.

    • Cassandra says:

      Hi Raegina,
      Unfortunately, Claire never latched properly and my supply dried up, so we are formula feeding her. I’m really bummed about it. I breastfed my son for two years and took Depakote the whole time, which worked for me. If you respond to any other medication, go for it! Thanks for stopping by.

      Cass

  4. Congrats on the birth of your daughter, raising an independent son, and writing a book! Best of luck with your pitch!

Share Your Thougts!

